[Discuss] CIRA pulls DNS upon request of politician

stephen hawkes sghawkes at shaw.ca
Sat Jun 3 08:48:05 PDT 2006


David Bronaugh wrote:
> Corey Burger wrote:
>> Seems the CIRA has pulled the DNS of youthforvolpe.ca, a political
>> satire website. This is completely not acceptable and needs to be
>> fixed. The chilling effects on free speech cannot be discounted. More
>> information at:
>>
>> http://www.stephentaylor.ca/
>>
>> Please contact Joe Volpe via the email on that page at the CIRA via:
>> http://www.cira.ca/en/contactus-1.html
>>
>> Corey
>>
>> ps: This is not about which party did it. Please don't descend into
>> "This is common for the Liberals" or "Aren't the conservatives great".
>> This is a free speech issue that transcends political boundaries.
> Status:         SUSPD
> Registrar:      Canadian Domain Name Services Inc.
> Registrar-no:   140
> Registrant-no:  1545934
> Domaine-no:     1545934
> Subdomain:      youthforvolpe.ca
> Renewal-Date:   2007/05/31
> Date-Approved:  2006/05/31
> Date-Modified:  2006/06/01
> Organization:   Mike Hunt
> Description:
> Admin-Name:     Mr Mike Hunt
> Admin-Title:
> Admin-Postal:   868 Main Street
>                Belleville ON K8N2Y8 Canada
> Admin-Phone:    905-338-4949
> Admin-Fax:
> Admin-Mailbox:  youthforvolpe at hotmail.com
>
> Perhaps you should ask Mike Hunt why he registered the domain under 
> what looks like a false name and/or address?
>
> I mean, Mike Hunt. Sure, it's kind of funny, but it's a bit of an old 
> joke.
>
> I also wasn't able to do a reverse lookup on the phone #, and wasn't 
> able to correlate the address to a # either.
>
> There is no one with last name Hunt registered at that address in 
> Belleville, ON.
>
> I'm about 90% sure it's a totally bogus name. Isn't that grounds for 
> domain suspension?
>
> Free speech is not an excuse for not playing by the rules.
>
> David Bronaugh

I have to agree. Maybe someone was offended, went to look up the owner 
to contact them and discovered there was no "real" owner, reported it to 
CIRA and they suspended it until those issues are dealt with. I may be 
reaching, but had it be registered under a believable name with proper 
address and number etc then it would not look fishy to me. Had they 
wanted a level of anonymity there is a proper way to do that, you don't 
register a fake name.

At this point it would be comparable to your neighbour that doesn't like 
you having your car towed: sure they make not like you, but if you 
parked in a no parking zone what do you expect?


More information about the Discuss mailing list