[Discuss] CIRA pulls DNS upon request of politician

David Bronaugh dbronaugh at linuxboxen.org
Sat Jun 3 07:57:57 PDT 2006


Corey Burger wrote:
> Seems the CIRA has pulled the DNS of youthforvolpe.ca, a political
> satire website. This is completely not acceptable and needs to be
> fixed. The chilling effects on free speech cannot be discounted. More
> information at:
>
> http://www.stephentaylor.ca/
>
> Please contact Joe Volpe via the email on that page at the CIRA via:
> http://www.cira.ca/en/contactus-1.html
>
> Corey
>
> ps: This is not about which party did it. Please don't descend into
> "This is common for the Liberals" or "Aren't the conservatives great".
> This is a free speech issue that transcends political boundaries.
Status:         SUSPD
Registrar:      Canadian Domain Name Services Inc.
Registrar-no:   140
Registrant-no:  1545934
Domaine-no:     1545934
Subdomain:      youthforvolpe.ca
Renewal-Date:   2007/05/31
Date-Approved:  2006/05/31
Date-Modified:  2006/06/01
Organization:   Mike Hunt
Description:
Admin-Name:     Mr Mike Hunt
Admin-Title:
Admin-Postal:   868 Main Street
                Belleville ON K8N2Y8 Canada
Admin-Phone:    905-338-4949
Admin-Fax:
Admin-Mailbox:  youthforvolpe at hotmail.com

Perhaps you should ask Mike Hunt why he registered the domain under what 
looks like a false name and/or address?

I mean, Mike Hunt. Sure, it's kind of funny, but it's a bit of an old joke.

I also wasn't able to do a reverse lookup on the phone #, and wasn't 
able to correlate the address to a # either.

There is no one with last name Hunt registered at that address in 
Belleville, ON.

I'm about 90% sure it's a totally bogus name. Isn't that grounds for 
domain suspension?

Free speech is not an excuse for not playing by the rules.

David Bronaugh


More information about the Discuss mailing list